Latest Skein – Piscean

Posted: 11/05/2014 in Spinning Fibre
Tags: , , , ,

I’m trying to work my way through my fibre stash at the moment.  I’ve got a few bundles of fibre I haven’t used for much, and it’d be great to get them spun and cleared so the only fibre I have left to worry about is my ouessant fleeces.  The latest finished skein is from a little 100g bag of merino fibre – the last bit of fibre I was able to get from Forest Fibres before they closed up shop.  It’s the same blue blend as my very first spinning project – the bulky blue fibre plied with silk thread from a few years ago.

This time, I wanted to get as much out of the fibre as I could.  And, now I’m getting the hang of spinning very fine threads to ply, I decided to try my hand at a little laceweight.

DSCN0201

The finished fibre is lovely – Two skeins, one slightly larger than the other.  They total 105g of laceweight 2-ply, at 21 WPI and just a hair over 400 yards of yarn.  The original blend of colours is still visible running through the fibre, and I cannot wait to see how it knits up.  I’m hoping the varied colours will create little bands of subtle almost-stripes, but we’ll have to wait and see.

DSCN0204

The big question of course, is what am I going to knit with it?  400 yards of laceweight seems to be enough for a pair of fingerless gloves, or mitts, or a cowl or shawlette, based on my Ravelry search (yarn weight; lace, yardage; 300-450 yards, craft; knitting, has photo; yes, sort by; most projects).  As much as I love the fibre I’m not sure I’d wear something in this specific blend of blues, so I might have a look at some patterns for things I could knit as gifts – maybe something pretty for my bestie, or big sis-in-law, or maybe something cute for the nieces – I bet I can get a couple pairs of child-size accessories out of this!

 

DSCN0206 DSCN0207

Leave a Reply

