Ravenwing Retrospective

Posted: 25/06/2013 in Knitting, Spinning Fibre
Tags: , , , , , , ,

 

Excuse the face, my other half spent most of the shoot trying to make me laugh!

Excuse the face, my other half spent most of the shoot trying to make me laugh!

I love this shawl.  It’s like a celebration of Loki, Odin, Freya and Frigga all at once.  Odin, for the raven-coloured yarn and winged shape, Freya, for her cloak of feathers, that she lends to Loki for so many of his adventures, and Frigga for the celebration of spinning and home crafts.  I’m also proud of it because it represents my most handmade item to date.  I wanted to look back on the process of creating the shawl, so here’s some photos and a few reminders of how it came to be.  Not much in the way of words, this is a celebration in pictures.  But, for those of you who want to make your own…

It started with my custom blend from World of Wools.  25% raven merino, 12.5% raven tussah silk, 12.5% each of midnight and aubergine merino, royal blue and amethyst tussah silk and rainbow trilobal nylon, blended the maximum five times.  I love the rainbow colours, but the next time I make the fibre I think I’ll skip the trilobal, add a little more raven silk and blend it a little less, to show off the colours in the fibre better – the trilobal does overwhelm the blend some.  I’d probably also add beading, now I know how the pattern comes together, I could add beads quite easily to really show off the shape.

DSCN0436

DSCN0387

DSCN0432

DSCN0437

DSCN0469

DSCN0481

DSCN0568

DSCN0570

DSCN0598

DSCN0160

DSCN0199

DSCN0219

DSCN0225

DSCN0232

DSCN0294

DSCN0304

DSCN0318

DSCN0412

DSCN0431

“How about you do one of those poncey fashion magazine poses?” “Okay, but no trout pout.” “No you have to trout pout!” “Fine!”

DSCN0317

Obligatory look-at-how-mysterious-and-artsy-I-am pose

Leave a Reply

