Designing a Shawl – WIP

Posted: 07/04/2013 in Knitting
Tags: , , , ,

Just a couple of quick photos of my WIP shawl.

A quick look at the bit I've done.

A quick look at the bit I’ve done.

As you can see, I’m going for a fairly robust, gender-neutral shawl.  The main part of it is knit solid and I plan to finish with a nice bit of pretty, but not too delicate, lace.  Probably incorporating nupps or other bold, textural elements.  I didn’t want the main body to be too plain, so rather than knitting in stockinette stitch I’ve gone for a nice, textured surface that will hopefully look pretty cool once it’s blocked.

I wish you could see the pattern a bit more clearly

I wish you could see the pattern a bit more clearly

The yarn used is a DK weight yarn, and I hope the finished piece will be useable as a wrap for the head, a shawl or a scarf when it’s done.  I’ll keep you apprised of my progress!

Comments
  1. […] Designing a Shawl – WIP […]

  2. […] Designing a Shawl – WIP […]

  3. […] Designing a Shawl – WIP […]

  4. […] Designing a Shawl – WIP (whippedstitches.wordpress.com) […]

  5. […] Designing a Shawl – WIP (whippedstitches.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

