Oh, What a Fool I Am!

Posted: 04/04/2013 in Knitting, Spinning Fibre

Here I am fretting over what to knit while I gather up the funds to work on my next big project, and I’ve completely forgotten about one of my favourite pattern designers!  I’m a huge fan of Tiny Owl Knits and their incredibly sweet, animal-themed designs.  I made my own set of Hopsalots a couple of years ago and, while they didn’t turn out quite as charming as the designer’s own pair, I loved them so much they were worn until the soles completely fell apart.  I really should knit a replacement pair, and I’ve still got the gnome homes, fairy castles, faux fox stole, antlered beanie hat and twee little Woodsy Association wristies on my queue.

I even forgot another favourite designer, The Velvet Acorn, who’s chunky animal-themed hooded cowls are pretty much exactly the sort of thing I would have dreamed of as a kid.  I’ve been meaning to do something from that collection for a while, now.  Possibly for my nieces across the pond but… perhaps I should knit a test version for myself, first?

DSCN0084

Seriously,

DSCN0155

I need

DSCN0110 (2)

to use up

DSCN0021

my stash!

Here I am with a stash containing some snuggly soft purple Sirdar Click DK, about eight balls of deep purple and pale grey super-bulky yarn, four different types of my own handspun in worsted, DK and bulky, most of a ball of turquoise aran leftover from my MIL’s opposite pole and a further full ball of lavender aran from my own, not to mention a whole bag full of machine-knitting wool cones I obtained through Freecycle that I still haven’t done anything with.

I’ve got more yarn stash than I know what to do with, and two designers I’ve been dying to knit from.

So!  New personal rule!  While I’m waiting for a budget for my next big knitting project, I must try to use up at least two yarns from my overflowing stash.  Now all I have to do is pick which ones.

Comments

Leave a Reply

