An Update

Posted: 11/03/2013 in Uncategorized

And once again, I have to apologise for the radio silence.  Things have been, well, thingy.  For dole-scum, I do seem to get quite busy!

I’m about 75% of the way through a now very overdue Opposite Pole that was supposed to be my MIL’s Christmas present, and while I don’t have photos of that particular WIP I can promise you it looks as lovely as my first, albeit in a different colour.

I’m also making something for myself out of my handspun custom fibre.  I’m using this lace scarf pattern and a bit of experimenting to try and create my own vest, creating the pattern from scratch.  This could go horribly wrong, but fortunately I’m working in merino so can at least comfort myself with the knowledge that I can shrink or stretch it a little bit if it needs it.  I’ll only have enough yarn to make the front from my handspun, and want to then use black yarn for the back.  It’s also going well!  Apologies for the terrible photo quality, but while the photo itself is terrible, that may be the first photo I’ve taken of my handspun that truly shows how deep the colours really are!Image

In other spinning project news, I have a fun custom blend planned!  I’m trying to figure out a blend that will look somewhat like a raven’s wing, with the complex rainbow colours hidden in the black.  There’s a Ravelry thread here for the discussion, which includes links to proposed custom blends that might work.  I’m still very much open to hearing your ideas!

I’ve also been very busy selling my writing for a pittance online!  It’s nothing exciting – mostly short children’s stories and the odd incredibly boring article, but it’s been a handy way to enhance my CV, if busier than I’d anticipated!

I’m sorry I haven’t been around much.  Aside from all the above, I’ve been having a bit of a wibbly down-turn mental-health-wise.  It’s nothing serious!  Just a bit of a bleh period for my ongoing anxiety/depression/panic/random guilt issues, and I’ve been trying to reduce the number of day-to-day obligations I have to turn the dial down on the stress-o-meter.  I plan to be back and posting regularly ASAP.  My birthday is coming up shortly, so that gives me a reason to cheer up!

 

Comments
  1. Hi! I’ve been following your weblog for a long time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Houston Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the fantastic work!

Leave a Reply

