New Fibres to Play With!

Posted: 30/01/2013 in Spinning Fibre
Tags: , , , , ,

As you already know, I’ve been having a lot of fun playing with the deep purple custom blended merino fibre I purchased from World of Wool.  I’m spinning most of it as simple singles, but have reserved some to experiment with, and had an interesting, if failed, experiment at incorporating nepps into handspun.

Well, I got lucky!  I’ve always wanted to try new and different fibres.  Merino is lovely to work with, but I’m intrigued by silk, alpaca and other fibre types.  What’s put me off trying new fibres so far is the cost – I know I can work with merino, and it’s relatively cheap.  The risk of spending money on expensive fibres only to find I make a mess with them is off-putting when you’re on a tight budget.  But I’ve always made a point of watching Ebay for bargains, and recently managed to pick up this adorable, mini sample pack of silk fibres for under £2!

It’s a really cute like pack, contains several different kinds of silk fibre and is ideal for someone like me.   I really love the different greens, from the colour of Spring peashoots to seafoam green.  The colours are almost a perfect contrast to my plummy, purple custom blend, so I’m going to try incorporating them into some of that and see how it goes.  Watch this space for updates!

Comments
  1. Sandy Gracey says:

    Do you mind if I quote a few of your articles as long as I provide credit and sources back to your blog? My blog is in the exact same area of interest as yours and my users would certainly benefit from some of the information you provide here. Please let me know if this alright with you. Many thanks!

Leave a Reply

