Embroidered Diary 2013 – January

Posted: 09/01/2013 in Embroidered Diary 2013
Tags: , , ,

I’m currently working on design concepts for my embroidered diary entry for January.  Each entry will include one sampler page illustrating a new stitch I’ve learned, and an embroidered picture or diary entry relating to the month.

2012 was kind of a rubbish year at the Whipped Witch house, so my entry for January 2013 is going to focus on leaving all of the old, bad things behind us and looking forward.  I have most of the concept down, but still have a few things to iron out.

Image:  Winter scene.  Grey sky, snowy ground.  Pine trees in background.  Me, the Mister and our cats walking off to the right.  May put pots and pans in our hands, calling back to the old tradition of banging pans and making noise to drive out evil spirits on New Year’s Eve.  To the left, a mess of something that represents all the bad stuff.  Maybe a defeated dragon, or just some dark and foreboding embroidered tendrils.  Haven’t quite figured that bit out.  Or I might have us circling the mess of something with our pans, to more directly show us driving it out.

Text:  January 2013.  2012 was shit.  Roll on the new year.*

I’m probably going to go for a felt appliqué design since it has a thick, Wintery feel to it, although the sampler page will be on cotton, for simplicity.  I’m planning on playing with buttonhole stitch for the sampler, and it’ll be fun to see how I can then incorporate the stitch into the diary page.

*The text I’ve chosen feels a bit flat and lifeless, and although it kind of reflects how tired and down I feel at the end of 2012, it doesn’t really reflect the attitude I want to have going forward.  Will almost certainly end up changing it.

Comments
  1. […] I mentioned in an earlier post, I’m working on an embroidered diary for 2013, as a way to learn new stitches, and to help […]

Leave a Reply

