Ravelry Mondays – Socks And Miscellany

Posted: 24/06/2013 in Knitting, Ravelry Mondays
Tags: , , , , ,

This is Ravelry Mondays, a weekly event where I pick three-five patterns seen on Ravelry that week, and share them on this blog.  Some weeks will be themed, and there are some rules.

In order for a pattern to qualify it must:

  • Be on Ravelry
  • Be available for download either on Ravelry or from another website – no patterns only available in print or magazines, but it doesn’t have to be free
  • Have at least one photo clearly showing the item as a whole
  • Have at least one photo where the item is not being manipulated, so we can see accurately how it hangs and fits
  • Must have the necessary minimum information on the ravelry page – sizing info where applicable, yardage, yarn weight, etc
  • Clothing items will only qualify if they are available in plus sizes*
  • Only one pattern per designer per week

*And the plus sizes given must have MEASUREMENTS.  Calling the sizes XS-XXXL means nothing if you never tell us what XXXL is.  I’ve seen a 40″ bust called that, before!

Since I missed last week’s Ravelry Monday, due in large part to spending every second of my spare time knitting furiously to finish my gorgeous, luvverly shawl, I’m presenting some extra bits and pieces this time around.  The focus this week is on socks – although I found a few other things that were just too pretty not to share.

I hope I haven’t given the impression, through lack of attention, that I’m not a sock lover.  I do like them.  I just have a history of being bad with socks.  My house is the place where socks go to die.  I don’t think I’ve managed to keep a pair of socks intact for more than a week before one goes missing, and for the last three months I’ve been borrowing my other half’s three remaining pairs when he’s not wearing them.  Because of my terrible sock habits, I’ve been loathe to knit any for myself in spite of the gorgeous patterns out there, simply because I feel they’d be wasted on me.  And I feel bad about spending money on good yarn to make something I know will just disappear before I’ve had a chance to wear it more than twice.

But I do love socks, and have a rather large list of queued sock patterns waiting for me to get better at this stuff.  Maybe I just need to charge in and make some.  Maybe having a pair of socks I made myself, from fancy yarn, will motivate me to take better care of them.

Time Traveller

This is a very cute pair of socks.  I love sock patterns with very thin cables, and the heel looks interesting as well.  These are knit in fingering weight yarn, and have a lovely shape to them.  I’d love it if there was a knee-length option, simply because I love knee-length socks, but the mid-calf length is a good, standard length that’s easy to wear.  As an aside, one thing I love to see in photos of knitting patterns is a range of different sized people wearing them.  I know I talk about that with knit sweaters and the like, but I think it’s especially important for items like socks.  Shop-bought socks can be very uncomfortable if you’ve got chunky calves like I have, but I can see here that the cuff stretches beautifully, so these would no doubt be very comfortable for me.  The pattern is available for download at Ravelry for under £4.

Tiril

Here’s another pretty pattern, where a cabled design is knit wide to create a gorgeous pattern of ferny, leafy things along the sock.  This is another fingering weight pattern but is knit top-down, which is a great way to ensure the cuff is nice and stretchy – binding off can often tighten stitches, which results in a more uncomfortable sock.  The Tiril pattern is also under £4, and is available for download at Ravelry.

Gatlingburg

Now this is a great, gender-neutral sock pattern.  It’s a fingering weight again, with a slightly longer shape to it that would make it great for longer-legged people, and an interesting design of cables.  The pattern is available for under £4 and can be downloaded at Ravelry.

Charlotte

This is something a little dfferent.  A very nice top in DJ weight yarn with a thin striped pattern, and a really attractive shape at the shoulders and neckline.  It’s also available up to a 60″ bust, making it one of the more generous patterns available, and at under £3 is a real bargain.  I really like this one, and it is available for download at Ravelry.]

Aquae Tank

This is another pretty DK-weight top, this time featuring wider stripes knit using a gently variegated yarn that leaves the finished top with a pretty, painted look.  The pattern is simple and easy to modify, and is available up to 60″ again, so is another great pattern.  I especially like the length of it, which sits nice and low on the hips and would look great layered over a thin shirt.  The Aquae top is available for under £4 and can be downloaded at Ravelry.

Sheherezade

It’s possible I have a weakness for beautiful beading on shawls that’s making me biased, but I think this is simply stunning.  A gorgeous, large, lace-weight shawl with a distinct lace pattern and a second, independent pattern worked in the beading itself, and that rough, frilly edge that makes it look so light and cobwebby.  The Sheherezade pattern costs £4, and is available for download at Ravelry.

Comments
  1. Thanks for the plug!
    Donna

Leave a Reply

