Ravenwing Shawl – Grafting Stage! And an Offering.

Posted: 05/06/2013 in Knitting
Tags: , , , ,

DSCN0160

This shawl pattern knits up very quickly, once you get the hang of it.  I’ve made both wings, and am well on my way to grafting the whole thing together before starting on the border.  The instructions for grafting look completely overwhelming at first, but if you just take it one row at a time and don’t think too much about what the pattern is doing, it works.

The waste yarn used to hold the stitches in place doubles up brilliantly as a lifeline once you start the grafting, and while I still think I’d rather have used a spare circular needle for each part, I can see why it’s done this way.  I’m just using kitchener stitch to graft, and again it’s one of those things that seems overwhelming, but is fine so long as you just concentrate on each stitch and don’t try to think ahead.

DSCN0162Of course, this is the part where knitting starts to get a bit exhausting.  Extending the edge from the left wing, across the back and joining to the right wing took no more than 30 minutes, and grafting the right wing to the back took maybe 15 minutes total.  I could’ve got the left wing grafted the same way in no time at all, but I just HAD to put the work down and take a break.  It’s not difficult work, but it is easy to mess up and takes a lot more concentration than normal knitting.  I hope to get the grafting finished today, at which point I’ll take a break and spin up some more of the fibre before I get started on the next stage.

I’ve also been doing a lot of baking, recently.  My sourdough starter has really developed into something robust and lively, and I’m getting some gorgeous loaves out of it.  It seemed right to make a couple of plaits as an offering, which is exactly what I did a couple of nights ago.

DSCN0587 DSCN0171

DSCN0172

There’s a thick tree stump in the churchyard outside my house – the tree was felled a couple of years ago, but the stump is alive with whip-like new growth and surrounded with other plants and mushrooms.  It’s as far from dead as you can get, and the flat top makes a fantastic offering table.  I made two plaits, individual sized, and left them on here drizzled with honey.  I figured once the Gods had what they wanted, the local fauna would take the rest, and I was right!  The area here is alive with birds and squirrels, and I hope they made the most of the treat!

Comments
  1. […] Ravenwing Shawl – Grafting Stage! And an Offering. (whippedstitches.wordpress.com) […]

  2. […] Ravenwing Shawl – Grafting Stage! And an Offering. (whippedstitches.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

